Ravi Jay: cookieMaster + blindteddybear + Dj aaRJay

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Super Chennai Super Kings win Champions League T20 2010

Statistics show that when a team has ...
1) Highest run scorer
2) Highest wicket taker
3) Highest individual score by a player
4) 3 bowlers in top 5 wicket takers
5) 2 batsmen in top 5 run scorers
6) 2 bowlers in top 5 economy rates

.... the team wins 80% of the time. OK, I made that statistic up. :D But, it doesn't matter because tommorrow's newspapers are going to celebrate an awesome team winning a major tournament in the same year they won the Indian Premier League 2010 (IPL 2010). Oh the CSK team and supporters painted the ground yellow tonight.

I am talking about Chennai Super Kings and the tournament is Champions League T20 2010. On Sep 25,CSK comprehensively beat Warriors. It was not even a fair competition once Davey Jacobs got out trying to play a terrible terrible shot. The spinners returned with figures of 16-2 and 16-3 with the illustrious Muralidharan finishing with more wickets than Ashwin. The latter howeever finished the tournament with the most number of wickets. 129 never posed a threat to CSK openers Vijay and Hussey as they breezed through most of the target with minimal hassle with captain courageous M S Dhoni finishing the game off with a few lusty blows in the 19th over along with Mr. Cricket Michael Hussey. The openers gave the impression that there was never any pressure. Yes, Warriors bowlers failed to apply pressure and if the faster bowlers disappointed, the spinners Botha and Boje were the only respite.

All in all, in a game which was completely dominated by a team who came together exceedingly well the only Warriors player who offered resistance was their captain Davey Jacobs who finished behind Murali Vijay in the runs tally. It is worth noting that there are 3 openers in the top 5 highest run getters and 2 spinners in the top 5 wicket takers.

Inspired performances by Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Muttaih Muralidharan, L Balaji, Dougie Bollinger and others contributed to an excellent performance throughout the tournament. CSK remain the only team to be not beaten in normal time. Earlier this year, CSK had won IPL 2010 and have now completed the rare double.

The Super Kings team will be disbanded and the players will be available to all franchisees. CSK, your team combination will be missed!

As the song goes,
Chennai Super Kings-ku whistle podu!

1 comment:

  1. MS Dhoni will be create the Magic again and win the IPL 2015 as well.

    android call recorder